Buzzing Thoughts

A Letter To Mr. Trump

Dear Mr. Trump,

You don’t know me, and I don’t know you. I’ve never been into one of your hotels, never watched The Apprentice, and to be honest, I’ve tried to distance myself from the political race last year, or at least on television. So really, I don’t know you.

And since you don’t know anything about me, let me tell you a little about myself: My father came to America when he was nine, so I am a first generation American. When I was born, my mother left her job to stay at home to raise my sister and I. She felt it was best to be there to raise her children, so we survived on one income, which was doable back in the 90’s.

I grew up in a well-to-do suburb of Illinois. I went to a decent public school system, which I was very fortunate of. I was not however, fortunate enough to have college paid for by my family, so I went to a Community College for two years to get my General Education and save costs.  From there, I went on to a State University, where I got my Bachelors Degree in Interior and Environmental Design. Even though I took the economical route, I am still paying off student debt.

I am a middle-class, white, American. I am one of those people that you spoke to during your political campaign.

I now live in Seattle, Washington. We are those “crazy liberals” who are, as you say, “violent” even though last Saturday we demonstrated a peaceful protest of over 120,000 people. Many Middle-Class Americans, the people you defended to serve to the highest power in their best interests, had things to say about what their interests are: abortion rights, fair worker rights, health care rights, and of course, women’s rights. I marched alongside women, men, seniors, and children. We were an array of different backgrounds coming together for one commonality:  to speak up and be heard. Hear our rights President Trump.

When I marched, I marched for the environment. Growing up, my fondest memories were of the camping trips my family would go on every summer. Hiking to cliffs that overlooked a vast scenery of the natural beauty of our country, I grew an appreciate and love for nature. There is something so moving about nature. It moves you to the core, uplifting your soul. Science has even backed up the benefits of nature, how it relieves depression and anxiety (fun fact, but apparently you have no interest in environmental data).

Nature is a multi-organism, each tiny creature playing a crucial part in the delicate structure of the ecosystem. It has been here long before humans, and yet, we feel like it is a foreign disease we must abolish. We tear down forests for lumber and drill into oceans and rivers for oil. We spill our waste into the crevasses of this planet and rape the earth of its resources. We act as if we are entitled to this violent behavior, like there is no other way of doing things. You President Trump certainly carry this idea, and it has become extremely evident of how far you will go to destroy our planet since being sworn into office.

First, you advanced the  access to the Dakota Access Pipeline, when hundreds of thousands of people voiced their opinion to former President Obama to DENY ACCESS, protesting for months through brutal conditions, being attacked for peacefully displaying their constitutional rights. When I heard you granted access, my heart broke. Living memories of the splendor and beauty of nature will vanish, never to be seen again. Not just that, but that water will be contaminated, threatening the lives of many indigenous people, American Citizens, and the ecosystem. Oil is not the answer. I know you are heavily invested in oil companies, but the future is in sustainable energy. A businessmen like yourself should see that times are changing and what the smart economic move is.

And now you have taken down any information regarding climate change on the EPA website, controlling all scientific data hear-on forth. Climate change is REAL, and it is an important issue that needs to be discussed. Taking this information down is wrong and is not in the best interest of the American people.

I know you care so much about your legacy, but what legacy are you creating? You haven’t even been in office a whole week and you are the most hated president in American history. Is this the legacy you wish to leave? You wish for people to remember you for generations. With the crucial changes you have made thus far to environmental policy, there will not be many future generations of Americans to come. You are slowly aiding in the demise of our planet and our people.

Have you heard of Dr. Suess’ “How the Grinch Stole Christmas”? While I may not know you personally, I do know you are the grinch. Your heart is so small. You have no empathy, compassion, remorse, or guilt. You are hated by millions. Your heart grows smaller. It’s an endless cycle of bitterness and hate.

You talk big, but your actions speak of a coward. I hope you didn’t trade mark your campaign phase, because you certainly aren’t living up to it. We are now the clown of all countries, a jester of a nation with a fool as its leader.

Open up your ears and LISTEN to the American people. Open up your heart and FEEL the sadness, pain, and fear that many Americans are facing. And now since I’ve told you a bit about myself, you know what my interests are: the environment. You call yourself an environmentalist? I fear you don’t even understand that word. An environmentalist cares about the wellbeing of the planet, and speaks up for those voiceless creatures that inhabit this earth. Environmentalists may have that catch-phrase ‘Go Green’, but they certainly aren’t talking about those crisp green bills.

So Mr. Trump, I urge you….

Go with what’s best for the people. Go with what’s best for the environment. Go Green.

Sincerely,

Marissa

Artist & Blogger behind Honey Lune Hivery

 

Leave a Reply

