Roasted Garlic and Pumpkin Hummus

I’m so happy that it’s fall! It’s one of my favorite seasons (not that there are many to choose from). One of the reasons I love fall is for all the delicious fall produce: squashes, apples, sweet potatoes, and pumpkin! Nothing screams ‘fall’ like pumpkin.

Last weekend my boyfriend and I went on our weekly trip to Costco. We got some canned pumpkin there, and since it’s Costco, that means we got three 29oz cans. While I love pumpkin and all…what am I going to do with that much pumpkin?!

Not only what am I going to do with that much pumpkin?, but what can I make with the other ingredients in my pantry and fridge? It’s time to get creative.

While searching through Pinterest, I came across some pumpkin hummus recipes. I found one that I liked on Pinch of Yum. It uses simple ingredients and doesn’t take that long to prepare. I adapted this recipe, since I didn’t have the rosemary the original called for. Instead, I wanted a smoky spread, and traded rosemary for paprika. The result was a flavorful dip that is savory with a hint of sweetness.

Here are a few health benefits on some highlighted ingredients:

Pumpkin – One cup of pumpkin contains 197% your recommended amount of Vitamin A. Besides keeping our skin, hair, and eyes healthy, Vitamin A is good for our immune systems, making us less likely to get sick.

Chickpeas – Chickpeas are a wonderful source of plant protein as well as fiber. One cup of chickpeas contains 35g of fiber and 39g of protein, as well as iron, phosphorous, magnesium, copper, and zinc, which are all great for optimal bone health.

Garlic – An anti-inflammatory, garlic helps aid digestion issues, reducing swelling and irritation in our digestive tract. It also helps in digestive problems such as diarrhea and removing harmful bacteria.

Roasted Garlic and Pumpkin Hummus

Ingredients

  • 2-4 cloves of peeled garlic
  • 2-4 tbsp water
  • 1 1/2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2/3 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1 15oz can of cooked chickpeas
  • 1 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1/2 tsp smoked paprika
  • salt to taste

Directions

  1. Heat 1 1/2 tbsp of olive oil over low heat in a small saucepan. Add garlic cloves and let roast for 15-25 minutes, until brown.
  2. Add garlic with olive oil, pumpkin, chickpeas, maple syrup, paprika and salt to a high powered blender (Vitamix) and blend. Add water to thin mixture. Start off with 2 tbsp and add more if need be.
  3. Set with warm pita or spread on a toasted baguette. Use in a sandwich spread or just dip!
Leave a Reply

