Buzzing Thoughts

The Liebster Award

Recently I was nominated for the Liebster Award! It’s an award given to bloggers by other bloggers and is a way to support the blogger community. I was nominated by Samantha of The Other Side of Counting to Ten. Her blog shares her story, having posts ranging from life experiences to poetry.

www-styrianbeautyblog-com_

Being nominated for the Liebster Award, I am spreading the love and nominating some fellow bloggers!

The Liebster Award rules for 2016:

  • Thank the person who nominated you, and post a link to their blog on your blog. Try to include a little promotion for the person who nominated you.
  • Display the award on your blog — by including it in your post and/or displaying it using a “widget” or a “gadget”.  Images you can use for your 2016 Liebster Award can be found at http://theglobalaussie.com/the-official-rules-of-the-liebster-award-2016/ .
  • List these rules in your post.
  • Answer your nominator’s questions.
  • Give 10 random facts about yourself.
  • Nominate 5 – 11 blogs that you feel deserve the award, who have a less than 200 followers.
  • Create 11 questions for your own nominees to answer.
  • Once you have written and published it, you then have to: Inform the people/blogs that you nominated that they have been nominated for the Liebster award and provide a link for them to your post so that they can learn about it.

Samantha’s Questions for her nominees:

1.Which of your Blogs is your favourite?

I have two blogs, ‘Honey Lune Hivery’ and ‘Tortuga de Lune’. While I have not kept ‘Tortuga de Lune’ as active as ‘Honey Lune Hivery’, I enjoy writing in that blog. It is my personal blog, which got me introduced into the whole world of blogging, and I enjoy writing about my thoughts and insights there.

2.What is your favourite quote?

I am a HUGE quote person! On my Pinterest, I have three boards dedicated to just words, so it is kind of hard to pick just one. A quote that has resonated with me for a while though is ‘I have sea foam in my veins. I understand the language of the waves.’ I find this quote so beautiful and moving. Being a pagan, I love how this quote connects to the element of water and ties it to our human emotions. Growing up, I was labeled as a sensitive child and overemotional. This quote however turns that negative connection to being sensitive into something that is a beautiful gift.

3.What is your favourite smell?

Like many things in life, I cannot just have one favorite smell. I enjoy the aromas of coffee, new books, rain storms, lavender, white sage, and almonds. Not all together though!

4.What inspires you to write?

I’ve always loved writing. As a child, I would create stories of myth and fantasy, creating backstories to my beanie babies and Polly Pockets. I excelled in my english classes, especially when it came to the writing. I think for me, writing is a way of self-expression. Since I was labeled a quiet child growing up, I found my voice in writing. I was able to express myself in ways speaking never allowed me to. I still carry a bit of that with me when I write today, but my writing is also a way to inform others, to spread my knowledge in subjects I am educated in, and to showcase my holistic lifestyle to others who wish to live an EcoSpiritual life as I do.

5.What would you change about yourself?

Something I would like to change and work on for myself is my voice. I seem to have some throat chakra issues going on, because I have always been a shy girl, afraid to speak up for herself. In a relationship now, I am realizing that communication is key, and I am trying to work on expressing my voice in healthy, positive ways.

6.If you could invite anyone to lunch, who would it be?

Hands down the Dalai Lama or Ghandi. These are two spiritually enlightened men who have lived their lives through love, despite all the hate they have received. As one who wishes to grow spiritually, I would love to have sat down and talked to these men, listening to their experiences and finding how to shape my own path towards eternal peace and happiness.

7.Where is your favourite place to visit.

The Pacific NorthWest. Two years ago, my family took a road trip out west for the summer, and the PNW was one of the stops along the way. Growing up in the Midwest, I hadn’t been exposed to much diversity in the topography of the land. I was blown away by the mountains, forests, and ocean. Last year for my birthday, I made another visit to the area to see my cousin in Seattle, and I loved exploring the city while I was there. It is somewhere I could definitely picture myself living.

8.Name one thing you are proud of about yourself.

Surviving college…literally. When I transferred to Illinois State University for my junior year of college, I developed an eating disorder. On top of taking a full 18 credit hour course load, working a part-time job, juggling a long-distance relationship, I was battling a demon inside my head every single day, a demon who was telling me I wasn’t good enough, that I was fat, ugly, and worthless. A demon that stripped away everything that I was, leaving a shell of a former person in its place. I hit rock bottom in college, and I was either going to stay there or climb back up, out of the hole. I chose the latter. Fighting a physically and mental disorder takes a lot of willpower and motivation. It is all on you, and I am extremely proud of myself for my self-recovery.

9.If your had a super power what would it be.

If anyone has ever seen ‘Teen Titans’, you are probably familiar with Beast Boy. He can transform himself into any animal. I find this to be the ultimate superpower, having the speed of a cheetah, the strength of an ox, the eyes of a hawk, the stealth of a fly on the wall, etc.

10.Solitude or companion?

Tricky question, because I am a very solitude based creature but am currently in a relationship. I enjoy my alone time. Being an introvert, I absorb a lot of energy and keep it bottled inside me. My alone time is a way to unwind and bring myself inner peace. That being said, I do enjoy my time with my boyfriend. We share a lot of special moments, laughter and adventure, and he holds a special place in my heart.

11.What is one piece of advice you would tell your 16 year old self?

Try not to plan life or have any expectations. If I would have told my 16 year old self that I would be working at a crystal shop two years after graduating college, doing yoga and exercising, hardly watching any tv, and becoming vegan, I would have said that you’ve got to be kidding. Life is definitely not planned, and despite me being a planner, things usually don’t work out like we’d expect them to, but it’s just all apart of our life journey. Each experience shapes us into who we are and is meant to happen for a reason, even if we don’t understand that reason at the time.

Fun Facts about Me:

  • I am a mycophile, which is a fancy way of saying a lover of mushrooms. I love to eat them, hunt them, paint them, and photograph them! Every spring, my dad and I would head up to my Uncle’s house in Wisconsin to hunt for morels. Yum!
  • Culture inspires me, and I would like to travel to one new place each year. So far, the new places I have been to this year have been Savannah, Georgia, and New Orleans, Louisiana.
  • I am a huge Pixar movie fan. I’ve seen every Pixar, and own most movies, including their short films.
  • I enjoy writing poetry. Creative writing was one of my favorite classes in high school, and I love using figurative language in my work.
  • I used to play waterpolo in high school. Being a shy and kind girl, I found that I was actually a beast in the pool, making the variety ‘hole-d’ position.

My Nominees:

My Eleven Questions:

  1. If you could go anywhere in the world, where would you go and why?
  2. What is your biggest fear and why?
  3. What is one of your most memorable experiences thus far?
  4. What’s your favorite animal?
  5. What is your favorite piece that you’ve written?
  6. What is your creative muse? What inspires you?
  7. Where do you see yourself in five years?
  8. If you had one way to influence this world and invoke change, what would it be?
  9. What is a book you’re currently reading?
  10. What is your favorite vegetable?
  11. Who do you think you were in a past life?

A big thank you to Samantha at The Other Side of Counting to Ten for nominating me!

3 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

Leave a Reply

