Plant Based Eating

Arugula Spring Salad

I feel like salads are a vegan staple. They are healthy, easy to make, and it is a sure meal I can have whenever I go out to eat. As summer approaches, my salad intake has been increasing. After all, there is nothing quite as nice as a crisp salad on a hot day. To keep things interesting, I like to mix up my leaves. Different salad greens offers different vitamins and minerals. There are more options that you think: kale, romaine, spinach, watercress, and arugula.

Recently, I was craving something light and simple. We had some arugula in the fridge and I figured it would be a perfect solution to my hunger. Arugula has such a distance taste to it.  I didn’t want to overdo the toppings on my salad and lose the flavor of the leaf in the process.

13324249_10201839059893627_133111686_o.jpg

There are minimal ingredients to this salad, keeping it simple to let the bold flavor of the arugula stand out. Even with such few ingrinets, you are still getting a ton of wonderful health benefits!

13282771_10201839060053631_356479219_o

Arugula – This lovely leaf is an excellent source of vitamin K. Vitamin K is needed for helping to clot blood and prevent excess bleeding. Aside from the heavy dose of this vitamin, arugula also contains Vitamins A and C, as well as potassium, magnesium, iron, and calcium.

Sunflower Seeds – These seeds are good sources of B6, thiamin, magnesium, copper, phosphorus, manganese and selenium, and are rich in vitamin E. They are excellent sources of energy, offering good amounts of protein and carbohydrates.

Lemon – This citrus is excellent for cleansing the liver and removing excess mucus. Full of vitamin C, it also keeps our immune systems healthy and functioning.

It is simple, refreshing, and classy. I don’t know what it is about arugula leaves, but they make me feel ritzy, like I am at Sunday Brunch in the Hilton. And while I may never step foot inside one of those fancy hotels or country clubs, this salad sure does make me want to wear my pearls and heels!

Arugula Spring Salad

13282657_10201839060093632_375012626_o.jpg

(serves 1)

Ingredients

  • 2 cups washed arugula leaves
  • 2 tbsp sesame seeds
  • 1/2 a lemon
  • 1/2 tbsp grapeseed oil
  • 1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • salt and pepper

Directions

  1. In a small dish, add the juice of 1/2 a lemon, the apple cider vinegar, and grapeseed oil. Whisk well.
  2. In a bowl, mix the arugula leaves with sparsely with the dressing. You don’t want to drench your salad with dressing. I used my fingers and dabbed them in the dressing and used my hands to toss the salad. Just think of it as playing with your food!
  3. Sprinkle on sunflower seeds and season with salt and pepper to your taste.
  4. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

