Plant Based Beauty

Lavender Salt Foot Scrub with Coconut Moistuizer

I am always on my feet. Every day, I am walking, running, and just moving around. Heck, I even go barefoot! So you would think as much as I am up and active, I would be taking good care of my footies. Wrong. Sad to say, my toes have seen better days, and are in need of some heavy TLC.

It just so happens that this weekend is my best friend’s wedding (hey, isn’t that a movie or something?). I am so excited for her and her fiancé to finally tie the knot! Since it will hopefully be a nice weekend, I am planning on wearing some peep-toe wedges. I can’t quite wear them though when my feet are in the condition they are in now, dry, peeling and cracking. It’s time for my feet to get the pampering they deserve.

So I decided to do a duo treatment on my feet. I started with a foot scrub first to remove all the dead skin and then softened up my dry feet with a coconut moisturizer. Both recipes are simple to make and leave your feet smelling and feeling like fresh flowers! My toes are now ready for spring!

Ready to make your own foot spa night? Here are the recipes:

Lavender Salt Foot Scrub

The lavender oil in this scrub has anti-microbial properties and can alleviate burns and cuts. Furthermore, lavender oil has been shown to improve the skin’s appearance. It will leave your feet as fresh as the flower itself!

  • 1/2 cup epsom salt
  • 1/8 tsp (or 2-3 drops) lavender oil

Mix together the salt and lavender oil in a small dish. Take a handful and rub on your feet, targeting the dry areas especially. When finished, rinse with warm water and pat skin dry.

 

Coconut Moisturizer

Coconut oil is amazing for your skin. Full of saturated fats and Vitamin E, it leaves our skin smooth, with a healthy glow!

  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1-2 drops lavender oil

After you have scrubbed and removed the dead skin, it is time for the coconut moisturizer! In a blender, blend the coconut oil until it is fluffy. Mix in lavender oil and whip by hand. Remove from blender and lather on your feet.

 

 

Leave a Reply

