Soothing Banana Oatmeal Mask

I’ve noticed that ever since leaving my job in the city and working in the suburbs, my skin has gotten remarkable clearer in complexion. Due to less exposure of city pollution, and increased time spend outdoors, my skin has appeared smoother and brighter. When I used to commute to the city, I was making a lot of cleansing scrubs and masks to get rid of all the grit and grim that had accumulated on my face. Now that my skin has become healthier, I want to pamper it.

Behold the Banana Oatmeal mask. Mmmm…Banana Oatmeal. I don’t know why, but when I think up my beauty recipes, I tend to choose ingredients that have a good pairing of tastes. It’s as if I am going to eat it instead of lathering it on my face. Well, every now and then I suppose I do take a little nibble. Not only is it like having a hearty bowl of breakfast on your face, but the benefits of these the ingredients are wonderful for soothing and pampering the skin.

Oatmeal – This grain is perfect for most skin types, including sensitive skin. It’s lipids and protein make it a great moisturizer, and it can help sooth your skin from sun burn and eczema.

Banana – Rich in potassium, bananas make excellent moisturizers. Plus, with their other nutrients such as Vitamin C, A, and E, bananas help your skin in other ways such as clearing up acne, dark spots, and wrinkles.

Coconut Oil – What can’t coconut oil do?! It benefits our skin due to its content of Vitamin E, protein, and fatty acids. It can be used to soften, repair, hydrate, and clean your skin.

Yum yum yum! In the morning, night, or anywhere in between, this Banana Oatmeal Mask is a delicious way to treat your skin.

Add 1/2 a mashed banana with 1/4 cup of rolled oatmeal, 2 tbsp oatmeal flour (or ground oatmeal), and 1 tbsp melted coconut oil. Mix well until a thin paste forms and lather on your face. Leave on for 15 minutes or until dry, and wash with warm water.

One thought on “Soothing Banana Oatmeal Mask

Leave a Reply

