Banana Bread Face Mask

It sounds more like it should be in your tummy than on your face right? Today I was downtown in the city. During the evening I noticed my face feeling grimy and gross from the long day. Not to mention that city air isn’t the best for our skin. I always do a coconut moisturizer before bed, but realized I needed something else after today. I even noticed a pimple (eee-gasp!). Wanting to try a new recipe, I went to my pantry and got creative…

The results, a delicious mask that repairs your skin, removing toxins and giving you a
clearer, brighter complexion. Here are the active natural ingredients:

Banana – A mushed banana acts as a great exfoliate. Plus it is rich in potassium and Vitamins E and C, which all aid in promoting glowing skin. They help reduce dark spots, treat acne, and control oil.

Nutmeg – This spice is a useful exfoliate that removes dead skin and improves your skin tone and brightness.

Cinnamon – With its anti-bacterial and anti-fungal properties, cinnamon enhances your complexion, reduces blemishes and acne, and alleviates fine lines.

Honey – Full of antioxidants, honey helps slow down the aging process and cleans pores, allowing for a clearer complexion.

Oatmeal – Oatmeal aids in anti-aging, removing dead skin cells, reducing redness and rashes, as well as brightening skin. It is beneficial for removing toxins from the skin and reducing pore size.

Banana Bread Face Mask

  • 1 mashed banana
  • dash of cinnamon*
  • dash of nutmeg*
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 2 tbsp oatmeal

Combine all ingredients into a bowl. Mix well and apply to face. Let sit 10 minutes (if you can resist) before washing off in warm water.

*Note: So I am putting these ingredients as optional. The first time I applied this mixture to my face, my skin got all itchy. When I removed my mask, this is what I looked like.

photo 3

Talk about an allergic reaction! I believe the culprit to be the spices. To sooth the redness, I swabbed a cucumber slice over my face and the next morning I had the soften, smoothest skin. I don’t know if the spices mixed with the cucumber did this, but if you want to go through the process of what I experience, red face but a luscious after effect, I am leaving these ingredients for your choice.

 

Leave a Reply

