Plant Based Beauty

Turmeric Toothpaste

So I am all about the DIY beauty products. It saves me tons of money to make my own body scrubs, lotions, and other skin applications rather than spending on the  over-priced products that aren’t really that great for my skin in retrospect. Making my own products, I am using natural earth-based ingredients and eliminating any chemicals that are normally found in common skin and beauty items. All I need to do is go to my kitchen cabinet for my ingredients!

I have recently found a recipe for homemade toothpaste using turmeric and coconut oil as the active ingredients. These food are wonderful for oral hygiene due to their anti-bacterial, anti-fungal, and anti-microbial properties. They strengthen teeth and gums, kill the germs that cause bad breath, and whiten teeth.

So here is the recipe, and while its yellow color may look like it would stain your teeth, I’d suggest doing a trial of one month to see the result of this homemade toothpaste. I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did! A little fair warning, this paste will stain your toothbrush, so if you don’t want to always use a yellow bristled brush, I’d get a second one just for the turmeric paste.

Turmeric Toothpaste

  • 1 tbsp extra virgin coconut oil
  • 1 tsp peppermint oil/extract
  • 1 tsp ground turmeric powder
  1. Mix ingredients in small dish
  2. Apply mixture to toothbrush and brush as normal.
5 thoughts on “Turmeric Toothpaste

Leave a Reply

