Fall Spice Body Scrub

Being a young adult starting off her life, I try to save money any way I can, so instead of buying lotions, scrubs, and other body products, I have been making my own. Not only does it save me money, but I am using simple and natural ingredients which are from the earth and haven’t been chemically altered by factories and labs. When we use many of these manufactured beauty products, we are putting these chemicals on our bodies topically, which eventually get absorbed into our skin. Not only that, but when we rinse these ingredients off, they go down the drain and back into the environment, altering and damaging her ecosystems. Going back to the basics with your beauty treatments is a simple, cost-effective way to respect mother nature and pamper yourself in the process.

Recently on my other blog, Tortuga de Lune, I wrote a post about a Fall Spice Face Mask I tried. It turned out wonderful, and my skin felt smoother, brighter, and firmer. I also love this Coconut Coffee Body Scrub I do whenever I have my cup of coffee in the morning and have those remaining coffee grounds. 20151106-192200.jpgWaste nothing! Merging the two, I decided to make a Fall Spice Body Scrub that uses both recipes to create one fall-mazing natural body product. Here are the health benefits of this scrub:

Coffee Grounds – A natural skin exfoliate, coffee grounds remove dead skin and improve your skin’s texture and firmness.

Honey – Full of antioxidants, honey helps slow down the aging process and cleans pores, allowing for a clearer complexion.

Coconut Oil – Due to its saturated fats and vitamin E content, coconut oil is great for softening skin, helping retain the moisture content of your skin.

Nutmeg – This spice is another useful exfoliate that removes dead skin and improves your skin tone and brightness.

Cinnamon – With its anti-bacterial and anti-fungal properties, cinnamon enhances your complexion, reduces blemishes and acne, and alleviates fine lines.

Combine your used coffee ground remains with 1 tbsp coconut oil, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, and 1/2 tbsp honey in a mixing bowl. Transfer to a mason jar if you’d like, and bring in the shower. Use as you would any body scrub and feel Fall Fantastic!

Leave a Reply

