Plant Based Eating

You Are What You Eat

One of the many things that has helped in my self-growth and positive mindset is learning the importance of healthy eating. Through my teenage years, I was quite an unhealthy eater. I followed the ban wagon of Doritos and Coke. Even though my family made balanced meals containing all the food groups, I would pass on the vegetables and load up on the simple carbs such as dinner rolls and pasta. Not only did eating like this make me gain unnecessary weight, but I was moody, lethargic, and overall unhealthy. I found myself running out of breath faster than my peers and I just had this negative mood.

After college, I started to adapt healthy eating habits. I would eat balanced meals containing complex carbs, lean proteins, and lots of vegetables. I ditched the sugary processed foods and switched to clean eating. My weight shifted back to a healthy one and I was left with tons of energy and a much more positive attitude. I never thought that my diet was one of the reasons I was unhappy, but like that saying goes, “you are what you eat”. Before, I was eating crappy foods that had no nutritional benefits. It was all artificial and chemically treated. Since switching to food actually found in nature, such as nuts, fish, fruits and vegetables, I have noticed my physical and mental health increasing dramatically. I took the time and invested in my body. I learned about proper nutrition and the benefits I can get from specific foods. I am only 22, but due to healthier eating, I feel like I am six years old again. I have so much energy! I am like a little energizer bunny rabbit (rightly so because of all the vegetables I eat). I also am in the best mindset I have ever been in. I have so much joy and positivity. I don’t feel tired and lazy after I eat (I also watch portions). And one of the secrets to my success is natural foods. These foods contain essential vitamins and minerals that help our health, both mentally and physically. You can’t find these from a packaged meal. The best way to harness these benefits is straight from eating these foods in the cleanest state possible. Now when I say clean, I mean don’t expect to eat a banana that’s deep-fried in sugar and consider it healthy. Eating these foods without the added factors of sugar and oils are the best way to get those wonderful health benefits! Same goes for vegetables. When you cook vegetables, you are actually stripping away their benefits, so like this little rabbit says, “raw is better”.

I’d like to share a personal story about how poor diet can affect someone. It is no surprise that Americans struggle with diabetes, heart disease and obesity considering our food choices. People would rather take convenience of getting fast food than taking the time to make a proper meal. And over time, our bodies become addicted to this type of eating. Sugar is actually more addictive than cocaine. Fun fact. I really can’t look at candy the same way again knowing that….

Anyways, my grandfather had horrible eating habits. His diet consisted of pizza, donuts, potato chips, and soda. I think vegetables and fruits were a foreign language to him. Not only was he obese, but he suffered from heart issues and diabetes. That was only the physical symptoms. Mentally, he was cranky, moody and had a very negative attitude about life. I feel bad saying all of these things, because I know he wasn’t always like this. Not saying his poor eating habits were the only reason he was like the way he was, but they did have an influence. He past away last Thanksgiving day due to a heart attack. He was 75 years old. Years of unhealthy eating had shortened his life, giving him a list of health problems both physical and mental. I remember that moment too well and am left to think of how different things could have been if he had chosen the life style of eating properly…

Not to scare anyone straight with that story, but it just shows the affects of the saying “you are what you eat”. I have made the switch to healthy eating and feel the best I have ever felt. It wasn’t easy changing my ways, but drastic change is never really easy. If anyone wants to improve their health and wants yummy nutritious recipes, I invite you to check out my Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/tortuga_de_lune/. I have multiple boards that have delicious recipes I have come across. I haven’t tried them all, so if you decide to try a recipe, let me know what you think! As always, have a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

