Chakras 101

Working at an energy based store, I keep expanding my knowledge of the metaphysical and spiritual aspects of life. One particular area that I’d like to focus on today is Chakras and their energies. For those who are new to the concept of Chakras, allow me to give a brief overview: Everything in this world is made up of energy, even us. We have multiple energy nodes within our bodies, but there are seven common nodes we refer to as the Chakras. These Chakras allow energy to flow within our bodies, creating balance and harmony. Sometimes these nodes can be blocked, causing problems both emotional and physical. Here are the seven main Charkas and a little information about each one.


Root Chakra

Color: Red

Location: Base of spine/tailbone

Principles: Survival, Security, Trust, Primal Energy, Grounding.

Proper functioning: Health, Courage, Patience, Safety, Security.

Improper functioning: Worry, Paranoia, Procrastination, Defensiveness, Thoughts revolve around Security and Material Possessions, Seeking out Sensual Indulgences or Thrills.

Sacral Chakra

Color: Orange

Location: Between base of spine and navel

Principles: Desire, Pleasure, Sexuality, Creativity

Proper functioning: Enthusiasm, Creative flow, Emotional gratification, Passion.

Improper functioning: Lack of Self-esteem, Restlessness, Emotional problems, Sexual guilt/impotence, Loss of sense of wonder.

Solar Plexus

Color: Yellow

Location: Above Naval

Principles: Willpower, Laughter, Joy, Identity/Shaping of Self

Proper functioning: Happiness/Joy, Acceptance of Self, Self-control, Warmth, Humor.

Improper functioning: Ego, Holding back expression of emotions, loss of self-control, feelings of gloom and easily angered, misuse of power.

Heart Chakra

Color: Green

Location: Heart Center

Principles: Love, Compassion, Harmony, Peace.

Proper functioning: Happiness, Love, Faith, Devotion, Compassion.

Improper functioning: Cold/Indifferent, Need of love and affections from others, Depression, Easily Hurt when experiencing rejection, unempathetic.

Throat Chakra

Color: Blue

Location: Throat

Principles: Creativity, Human Expression, Communication, Truth.

Proper functioning: Ability to completely express thoughts and feelings without fear, honesty, and remaining true to oneself.

Improper functioning: Difficulty communicating one’s truth, dishonesty, creative blockage.

Third Eye Chakra

Color: Indigo

Location: Brow

Principles: Wisdom, Intuition, Mental Powers, Inner Vision.

Proper functioning: Inner Knowledge, Intuition, Psychic Abilities, High mental powers of memory, focus, and will.

Improper functioning: Over-emphasis of mental, Intellectual arrogance, Selective memory, Depression.

Crown Chakra

Color: Purple

Location: Top of Head

Principles: Information, Understanding, Acceptance, Bliss, Spiritual

Proper functioning: Higher Consciousness, Spiritual Awakening, Peace and Calmness.

Improper functioning: Depression, Confusion, Boredom, Lack of Interest in World.


Anyone of these areas out of balance in yourself? So how do we get back into balance? There are multiple ways to realign your Chakra energy! The methods I use are associated to the color spectrum of the Chakras. I resonate with these methods likely due to my education in Interior Design where I learned about Color Theory and how colors play a role in our psychological well-being. Like did you know that many fast food restaurants use the colors red and yellow (Golden Arches anyone?) because these colors stimulate our appetite and speed? So bringing Color Theory into the Chakras, the ways I have aligned my Chakras are based on these color principles. Wearing the color associate with the Chakra I wish to balance is one way I have used this method. Also eating natural foods of that Chakra color through light energy, such as leafy greens for my heart and strawberries for my root. Another method is meditating or using a healing crystal/stone of that associate color. Here are some stones that are associated with each Chakra:

  1. Root: Red Jasper, Snowflake Obsidian, Hematite
  2. Sacral: Carnelian
  3. Solar Plexus: Citrine, Sunstone, Tiger’s Eye
  4. Heart: Aventurine, Rose Quartz, Jade
  5. Throat: Sodalite, Blue Lace Agate
  6. Third Eye: Amethyst, Lapis Lazuli
  7. Crown: Clear Quartz

I hope that whatever method you use, you are able to achieve balance and harmony within your energies and yourself! If you are having trouble where to start, might I suggest focusing on the Heart Chakra. When doing so, you align all other Chakras as a result. Just another great reason to live from the heart!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s